Showing posts with label exercise. Show all posts
Showing posts with label exercise. Show all posts

Monday, March 5, 2012

Ummm yeah...

So as much as I hate to admit this, I often updated my blog at work, mostly on my lunch break. But, lately, they've put on a generic "social networking" block, which sadly, includes blogger. So....I can't update as often. Plus, I'm basically a 95 year old grandmother and I'm in bed way before I should be at 27. But that's an entirely different story.

SOOO much has happened, I'm not even sure where to start!
My niece is getting bigger and bigger every day! In fact, I got a text tonight that she rolled over for the first time!
She's going to be moving and grooving way before we're ready, I can tell already!
I have to brag a little and tell you that I took this picture!

My "nephew" is getting bigger and bigger! At 8 weeks! (wow, 8 weeks) he's so incredibly handsome already.
Check out these pics I snapped of him a few weeks ago!

How cute is it that he was hugging his bear??!?! I love this kid!

Exercising is going. It should probably be going better, but I'm the queen of excuses and find one often. Running is in high gear. Apparently now I'm going to run a 5k at the end of March too, so that kind of puts a lot more pressure on me to get in a good running pattern. If nothing else, April 15 will be here before I know it and I won't want to be the one that walks!

Eating right is going better than exercising. I still crave big juicy hamburgers from Whataburger, but......I resisted the urge tonight and ate some veggie lasagna instead! So, here's hoping I get to running what I want to run by March 30. If not, I'm kind of screwed!

“Success isn't how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Stair what??

Ha, that doesn't even sound like "Say what" but it's funny to me.

So in this episode of trying not to be a fat ass, we are learning to take the stairs! I know, I know,  a lot of people take the stairs all the time. And that's great. I however, do not. I like going UP in the elevator. I'll walk down the stairs all day long, but UP, not so much.

Soooo this week I've decided that I will begin taking the stairs when the opportunity presents itself. Which is mostly at work. YAY!

"A man's health can be judged by which he takes two at a time - pills or stairs."
- Joan Welsh

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Umm, I can't feel my legs....

So this is me.....attempting to be healthier and not be pregnant (which would be counter productive to healthy) and work out more consistently and possibly lose some weight in the process. The goal of course is to be healthier overall, the weight loss is hopefully the bonus.

So....Monday....I ran. I'm working with my boss who is helping me find the right workout routine and it's been good so far, except really hard. Monday I did interval running. Basically, I warmed up for jogging for 5 minutes. Then (on the treadmill of course) I bumped it up to 6 (faster if you're more in shape than me). Ran at 6 for 1 minute. Then down to 5, then down to 4, for one minute each. Then back up to 6 and repeat the cycle. The goal was 25 minutes. I made it 22 before I thought my heart was going to explode. And I may or may not have taken a few 30 second breathers because I was so out of breath I felt like flying off the treadmill.

But, the point is, I did it. I got in 22 minutes of mostly solid running. It was a good step in the right direction.

Tuesday - stomach bug. You don't want to know the details.

Wednesday...supposed to work out with friends but they are both at home with or recovering from said stomach bug. Went to boss to get game plan. He says SPARTACUS 11:00 AM be there.

Let me just tell you...I've done this before. Like 2 times because, it's not easy. there's no breaks and you have to keep going for 60 second intervals. It's hard. The thought of doing it the day after having a stomach bug that about ripped my insides out.. exciting nauseating. But, the good news my sweet blog followers I DID IT. I didn't make it through 3 rounds like everyone else, but I did push it till it hurt in 2 rounds and that my friends, is something I am proud of.

If you're looking for a good circuit workout --- give it a try. It's hard. And there are definitely ways to make it harder...up your weights..modify the movements to make them more intense.

Here's hoping I can walk tomorrow because I'm kind of already having a hard time feeling my legs....

"The Greeks understood that mind and body must develop in harmonious proportions to produce a creative intelligence. And so did the most brilliant intelligence of our earliest days - Thomas Jefferson - when he said, not less than two hours a day should be devoted to exercise. If the man who wrote the Declaration of Independence, was Secretary of State, and twice President, could give it two hours, our children can give it ten or fifteen minutes. (Address to the National Football Foundations, 5 Dec 1961)"
- John F Kennedy

Monday, September 26, 2011

Work it out!!!!!

first, that was the safest "work out" picture I could find on google! INSANE!

Second -- I need a new work out routine. Here's the gist of why....

  • I dont do well on my own. Sure, I know HOW to work out and what is good, but I need something that tells me do this on day one and this on day two. I need something fun and exciting or else I'm just going to do the treadmill for a few days and then give up. 
  • I know what 20 year old Tiffany would do, but I don't know what 27 year old Tiffany needs or wants to do....so it's just bringing me down. 
  • I need routine. I'm better with routine. If I have something that is repeatable and fun, then I'll go further with it than just something that I come up with.
  • Preferably, I'd like for it be like a 30 day challenge or something so that I can look at it and kick it's ass! 
So yeah, I need some routine. Any thoughts on what would work? I've tried some of the videos but haven't gotten too committed to them to date. Partly because I don't own them probably.

"Too many people confine their exercise to jumping to conclusions, running up bills, stretching the truth, bending over backward, lying down on the job, sidestepping responsibility and pushing their luck"

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Google and Fat

Okay first, I just want to say that it's a little disturbing how many Jessica Simpson pictures come up if you do a Google image search on "fat". I mean, really guys? She's not even fat! Sure, she gained a few pounds here and there, but overall, she's still pretty damn hot. I honestly couldn't believe how many pictures of her came up! Sooooo we'll be skipping a picture for this blog because obviously the internets has lost it's damn mind.

Second.....I've been a little harsh on myself these last two days but I think that I'm probably going to have to keep being harsh because I feel like (and I know deep down) that my weight is bothering me and is slightly out of control. Whew. That's hard to say out loud!!! I've known for probably a year or so that I needed to do something about my weight. That it's out of control. That I'm unhappy with the way I look and feel. But, I'm lacking the motivation. No matter how much I call myself a fat ass or tell myself that I'm overweight, I still haven't found the inspiration to go to the gym. It's actually quite lame and annoying. And I know that if I would just get there once, I'd probably feel better and feel like going back. But sadly, that hasn't happened either.

I've started calling myself out on it...if you follow me on Twitter (which you should because my comments are dumb just like this blog), then you would have seen my tweet yesterday questioning whether the guys at the gas station are checking me out because I look cute or because they're debating whether or not I can run away from them if robbed.....it made me lol. But that's the thing. It made me laugh. It didn't force me to get to the gym.

So, here's what I propose blogosphere....that I quit being so lame and hold myself accountable through you guys. I know like 5 people read this, but 5 people is more than just me, right?

Here's hoping that holding myself accountable, by talking to you guys, will help me in the whole process of not being a lard ass and being more like my old self. My cute, skinny self. Who was happier!

And if you so desire, you can find me as "tiffytrox" on Twitter. You know you want to. As long as you're not some creepy internet troll, I'll even let you follow me! 


"Too many people confine their exercise to jumping to conclusions, running up bills, stretching the truth, bending over backward, lying down on the job, sidestepping responsibility and pushing their luck." Anonymous